Dr. W. M. C. Sameera

Department of Chemistry, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Institute of Low Temperature Science, Hokkaido University, Japan.

ORCID: 0000-0003-0213-0688

E-mail: wmcsameera@lowtem.hokudai.ac.jp; wmcsameera@chem.cmb.ac.lk Tel: +94777384296

Career summary

Carcer summar	· J
2022 - Present	Visiting researcher, Hokkaido University, Japan.
2022 - Present	Senior lecturer (Grade I), University of Colombo, Sri Lanka.
2016 - 2022	Assistant Professor, Hokkaido University, Japan.
2014 - 2016	Postdoctoral Research Fellow (JSPS), Fukui Institute for Fundamental Chemistry, Japan.
2013 - 2014	Experienced Researcher (MC-ITN), Gothenburg University, Sweden.
2010 - 2013	Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia, Spain.
2009 - 2010	Postdoctoral Research Fellow (EPSRC), University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Education

Ph.D. in Computational Chemistry, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom. (Graduation: 2010/07/01) B.Sc. (Hons) in Chemistry, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka. (Graduation: 2005/05/01)

Awards, Scholarships, and Prizes

- International Collaborative Research Program of Institute for Chemical Research, Kyoto University, Japan. (2022)
- Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Open Partnership Joint Research Project grant. (2022)
- Grant-in-Aid for Transformative Research Areas (A), Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japan. (2021)
- International Collaborative Research Program of Institute for Chemical Research, Kyoto University, Japan. (2021)
- Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research (C), Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japan. (2019)
- Visiting scholar, University of Gothenburg, Sweden. (2017)
- Visiting scholar, Department of Chemistry, University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka. (2016)
- Japan Society for the Promotion of Science postdoctoral fellowship, Japan. (2014)
- Marie Curie ITN fellowship, University of Gothenburg, Sweden. (2013)
- Poster prize, World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists Meeting. (2011)
- CRC press award for the best poster, the 7th Canadian computational chemistry meeting. (2009)
- The Jim Gatheral Scholarship, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom. (2008)
- WestCHEM postgraduate scholarship, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom. (2006)

Selected publications

- Ohki, K. Munakata, R. Hara, M. Kachi, K. Uchida, M. Tada, R. E. Cramer, W. M. C. Sameera, T. Takayama, Y. Sakai, S. Kuriyama, Y. Nishibayashi, K. Tanifuji, Nitrogen reduction by the Fe sites of synthetic [Mo₃S₄Fe] cubes. *Nature*, 2022, 607, 86-90.
- W. M. C. Sameera,* B. Senevirathne, T. Nguyen, Y. Oba, A. Ishibashi, M. Tsuge, H. Hidaka, N. Watanabe, *Front. Astron. Space Sci.* 2022, 9, 890161.
- W. M. C. Sameera,* B. Senevirathne, S. Andersson, M. Al-Ibadi, H. Hidaka, A. Kouchi, G. Nyman, N. Watanabe. *J. Phy. Chem. A*, 2021, 125, 1, 387–393.
- Y. Takeda, W. M. C. Sameera*, S. Minakata, Acc. Chem. Res. 2020, 53, 1686-1702.
- W. M. C. Sameera,* F. Maseras, J. Chem. Info. Model. 2018, 58, 1828-1835.
- W. M. C. Sameera, S. Maeda, K. Morokuma, Acc. Chem. Res. 2016, 49, 763-773.

Presentations

- Radical species on interstellar ices: a quantum chemical study. The 15th annual meeting for Japan Society for Molecular Science 2021. (Talk)
- Radical processes on interstellar ices: A combined experimental and quantum chemical study. ACS Fall 2021 National Meeting in Atlanta, USA. (Poster)
- Radical species on interstellar ices: a quantum mechanics/molecular mechanics study. CICO-VICO Fall 2020 Workshop, Chalmers University, Sweden. 2020. (Talk)
- Advances and challenges in modelling reaction mechanisms. Department of Chemistry School of Life Sciences, University of Sussex, UK. 2020. (Invited talk)

Computational chemistry software developments:

Shell Interface for Combining Tinker with ONIOM. (J. Chem. Inf. Model. 2018, 58, 1828-1835)

Supervisions:

Postdoctoral researchers: A. K. Sharma (2016-2018), M. Isegawa (2016-2017). Ph.D. students: Tomo Ogawa (2016-2019), Panyi Liang (2016-2019).

Masters students: S. Yanagida (2016-2018), A. Watanabe (2016-2018), C. Wakasugi (2017-2019).

Undergraduate students: Nimasha Thejani (2022), Ashani De Silva (2022), Yomal Benaragama (2022), Vaishnavy

Kugathasan (2022), Lashan Weerasinghe (2022), Charith Kuruppu (2022).